Melvin Gordon named to Maxwell Award watch list

It’s watch list season, and that means the Badgers are on alert for being on said lists. No one player is likely to appear on more watch lists than junior running back Melvin Gordon.

On Monday, the first of the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) watch lists were unveiled and Gordon was named to the Maxwell Award watch list. The Maxwell Award as been given to the best overall player in college football annually since 1936.

A Badger has only won the award once, with former running back Ron Dayne taking home the award in 1999.

Gordon is the sixth Badgers player to earn a nod to the Maxwell Award watch list in the last five seasons, joining Montee Ball (2011, 2012), John Clay (2010), Scott Tolzien (2010), James White (2011, 2013) and Russell Wilson (2011).

Last season, Gordon was a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award, rushing for over 1,600 yards and leading the nation with 7.8 yards per carry. Oregon State QB Sean Mannion, Oregon QB Marcus Mariota, Baylor QB Bryce Petty and Florida State QB Jameis Winston join Gordon as returning semifinalists for the award.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Nov. 3, while the three finalists will be unveiled Nov. 24. The winner will be announced as part of The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 11.

Andrew Coppens

About Andrew Coppens

Andy is a member of the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and has been covering college football for nearly half a decade. He is the Managing Editor of and associate editor of Bloguin's World Cup site,