The Sconnie Scoop: 6/6/12


Representatives of the Big Ten Council of Presidents/Chancellors announced its preferences for the future of the college football postseason in a teleconference on Monday. League representatives stated that they do not have any issues with the current procedure, but they recognized that as an unlikely option moving forward.

The representatives went on to say that they would be in favor of a four-plus one scenario where the top four teams would play and whoever was determined to be the top two would play for a national championship. A four-team playoff within the current bowl parameters was mentioned as a secondary preference.

23 players hit the hardwood in Colorado Springs for beginning of the U-18 National Team Training Camp Tuesday and incoming freshman Sam Dekker was among them. Head coach Billy Donovan and assistants Mark Few and Shaka Smart will eventually whittle the group down to a 12-man roster. The first round of cuts are expected to be made Thursday.

The Jared Uthoff saga could be coming to a close in the near future, but before it does, had a little fun with the situation. You can read all about it here.
The Big Ten Conference announced its 24 winners of the Outstanding Sportsmanship Awards for the 2011-12 academic year. Kyle Jefferson (mens track and field) and Any Covington (womens basketball) took home the honor for the Badgers.

The Big Ten also released its list of athletes in Spring and at-large sports who qualified for the All-Academic Team. 90 Wisconsin athletes representing 11 different sports qualified for the list. The women’s track team led the way with 14 selections.

Former Badgers defenseman Davis Drewiske and the Los Angeles Kings are one win away from claiming the first Stanley Cup in franchise. The Kings could seal the deal with a win over the New Jersey Devils tonight.